I watched the new Star Trek movie last night and was blown away.  I’m not sure if it was that the movie was that good or I was just so relieved that it didn’t stink.  I was half expecting an effort equivalent to Marky Mark and the Planet of the Apes.  Except for Chekov(who by the end of the movie needed a good punch in the mouth), the casting was spot on.  I was blown away by the actor who played Dr. McCoy.  His voice and mannerisms mimicked DeForest Kelley perfectly.

Normally, I am not a fan of time travel plots, but even this was plausibly well done.  It actually seemed like a well thought device to re-boot the series as opposed to a last minute hack.

I would highly recommend this movie to both Trekkers and newbies alike.

I would suggest checking out the following from Amazon:
Star Trek: The Original Series – Season 1 [Blu-ray]
Star Trek The Animated Series – The Animated Adventures of Gene Roddenberry’s Star Trek
Star Trek: The Original Series (Remastered) – Three Season Pack

and would not recommend this:
Planet of the Apes (Special Edition) – Marky Mark
Planet of the Apes [Blu-ray] – Again, with Marky Mark

